Breakfast Beer Risotto

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE breakfast for dinner. I’m pretty sure I lived on breakfast sandwiches through most of college (well, that and Kraft macaroni and cheese). I’m also a fan of risotto. Oddly, I was craving both one night. That’s when.. lightbulb. Why not make a breakfast risotto?

In my opinion, white wine isn’t the breakfastiest of alcohols. So, What to do, what to do. BEER! I mean, beerios are totally a breakfast staple, right? Okay, okay.. Maybe not, but the malty goodness seemed to be the perfect solution.

So now I present to you Breakfast Beer Risotto. And it’s frickin’ delicious.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups arborio rice
  • 1/2 large onion, diced
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • BEER! (I used an Independence Bootlegger Brown)
  • bacon
  • 3-4 eggs (more if you suck at poaching, like me)
  • 4 cups of chicken stock
  • cheeeeeeseeeee (I used pecorino because that’s what was in my fridge)

Steps

  1. Start by putting the chicken stock in a pot and bringing to boil. Reduce heat and maintain a simmer. While the chicken stock is coming to a boil – prep it up! Dice the onions and finely chop the garlic.
  2. Slice several pieces (5-9) of bacon to form short strips and brown to desired crispiness. Remove the bacon to a plate with paper towels to remove excess fat. Reserve a few tablespoons of fat in the pan to soften the onions (about 2 minutes) and then the garlic (approximately 2 additional minutes). Add the arborio rice and toast for yet another 2 minutes or so.
  3. Add 2 cups of beer and stir occasionally until the liquid is fully absorbed. Then ladle enough stock into the pan to cover the rice. Maintain a simmer and stir occasionally until the stock is absorbed. Now it gets repetitive – continue to add enough stock to cover the rice, stir, wait until absorbed, repeat. After about 20 minutes or so (yes, it’s a slower and more involved cooking process) the rice should be al dente and good to go.
  4. Season with salt and pepper. I also added rice vinegar (it’s the only acid I had on hand) to further season. The vinegar brought another layer of flavor to the party, but use sparingly. Don’t forget the cheese! Grate enough to taste. I use a microplane because the cheese melts faster that way.
  5. Here comes my favorite part (multi-tasking is beautiful):
  6. Fill the stock pot with water for poaching eggs. Do you suck at poaching eggs like me? This is the easiest way I have found to create nearly perfectly poached eggs.
  7. Throw your favorite veggies in the oven. I tossed some asparagus in olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper. Once ready, I topped with fresh lemon juice.
  8. Cook additional bacon!
  9. Turn the burner back on to warm up the yummy risotto and get ready to assemble some delicious dishes. Risotto on bottom. Poached egg on top. Add a slice of bacon and a side of veggies and top with additional cheese and freshly grated pepper.

It’s like heaven on a plate and goes best when served alongside a craft beer.

Slightly classier than beerios.. (and far tastier)

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Cooking with Beer, Recipes

Leave a Reply

